Children Play Tool’s “46 and 2” and I Call It Holy

Tool’s “46 and 2” isn’t just some badass rock song with poetical word combinations for their own sake. The lyrics, written by Maynard James Keenan and inspired by Carl Gustav Jung’s writings, are an expression of mankind’s yearning for transcendence. Although the Jungian basis for the lyrics might be unfamiliar to today’s general audience, I feel the sung words are borne of the same impulse that birthed religion itself.

The fact that the musicians in this viral video are children takes this complex song to the next level. By performing it with such unprecedented maturity, and by demonstrating such a deep understanding of what the song expresses, these children are playing out man’s greatest desire: to advance to a new plane of existence — to reach beyond our own already impressive capabilities.

Even the instruments and the technology behind it all can be viewed, if one is willing for a moment to forgo self-imposed limits on the imagination, not just as dead physical implements but as tools* for channeling the supernatural substance from which humankind springs forth.

Now do you see why I called this holy?

*See what I did there? I didn’t.

4 thoughts on “Children Play Tool’s “46 and 2” and I Call It Holy

  1. I’m most impressed by the drummer– wow. They are amazingly skilled and on pointe.

    We were just talking about gifts tonight at youth group. That’s a powerful example right there.

    • Yeah! That drummer was so alive. And even the humble percussion section, like that little guy knocking together the pair of claves in perfect time — just, damn, they were so keyed in. You can tell none of them were in it for their own egos. They were just serving the music, completely surrendering to it. That’s how good music is made. It’s totally spiritual, in my book! And I am babbling.

      • I remember sitting in a bar a few years ago, listening to my brothers band play. As I sat there I felt more “spiritual” or connected with God than I had in church (for a long time). Even with a brew in my hand. ;) It was there were I realized I could be in any environment and feel the presence of God. Foundational, right? But my mind had been so boxed in that I thought I could only truly experience Him or appreciate Him in the confines of a “Christian” environment.

        I felt that again two summers ago, standing in a field listening to Bob Dylan and his band play. The stars shone bright that night. And even though people around me were very much intoxicated and high, I could feel God in the sound of the music. The beauty of the sky.

        So….I get you. :)

        • OMG that is so great, Holly. Yeah, damn right: God is everywhere, and we can worship him anytime we want! A church the size of the whole world? That’s the one I go to. :) It’s funny you should mention the concert environment as a worship place. I was at a show the other night. One of the bands had some great dance music going. Soon I found myself moving around. At one point I noticed myself putting my hands up in the exact same way as I did during the praise music on my first visit to Substance Church. I had to laugh at myself because it was just so instinctive. I didn’t used to be like that. I mean I’ve always been down for dancing here and there, but only after getting waaasted and even then I wouldn’t give myself over to the music. Now that I know God’s got my back (got all our backs) I can just give it all up and praise the Lord whenever I want. Ain’t no shame in my game no more, which is BONUUUS.

Leave a Reply

