Christ Is Not for Everyone

I’ve embraced the cultural construct known as Jesus the Christ. It makes me at peace inside myself and shifts my focus from selfish concerns to selfless concerns. I’m a work in progress, but I know this new faith is a force for good in my life and in my dealings with others. All these writings here on The Cynic Testifies are to show you that even a morally and intellectually discerning person can benefit from an experience in the Christ figure.

But is Christ for everyone? Not necessarily. I’ve said before and still believe that whatever your pathway to peace is, that’s the right way. This is consistent with my secular humanist side, because I just want what’s good for humanity, but it’s also consistent with my measured faith in the bible. “Seek and you will find,” Jesus said. If you seek and were “meant” to embrace the Jesus, then it will happen. Don’t even worry about it.

If on some deep level you associate the Christ figure with the systematic rape that happens in the Catholic church, or the religious wars waged in the name of Christ, or the psychological abuse levied against innocent children in the name of Christian doctrine, and you cannot in good conscience intellectually separate the Christ from those who commit these atrocities in his name, then maybe Christ isn’t for you.

But if like me you find yourself able and willing to take the good parts of Christian traditions, discard the bad parts, and add what is uniquely your own, then you might benefit from embracing the Christ and should not fear its inconsistencies and imperfections. For my part, I fully acknowledge that it is a cultural construct, but that is actually one of the reasons I embrace it. I want to experience a feeling of connectedness with my culture, my people. For better and for worse, I came from this culture. I acknowledge its sickness and its beauties alike. Cognitive dissonance is my friend.

God bless you.

2 thoughts on “Christ Is Not for Everyone

  1. I think this was one of the most beautifully written pieces of religiously motivated text I have ever read. All religious people are ecclestic. Even the most hard core fundamentalist has to inteprete his religious set of scripture and does some cherry picking. It is up to us humans to take what is good from our cultural heritage and discard the bad stuff. I am not saying the bad stuff has to be forgotten. Quite the opposite. It is important to remember why it was bad, so we will not repeat it later.

    We are moral beings, and it is our capacity (wether god given, or natural) for empathy and reason, that we know what is right and wrong, not through some arbitrary divine command from a book. I guess, that is exactly what such people like Jesus, Socrates, Zoroaster, Confutius, Laozi, Buddha and many others before and after them have suggested. Choose what you know is right, rather than what someone else tells you. And it is the strength of that simple message, that made them great, But the necessity for them to tell us so, also telltales of a conflicting mind set, where people submit themselves to authority to make all those hard choises for them. Or at least remove the responsibility of their own selfish choises for some authority to bear. Or get their own will and choise through by evoking some sort of authority to back it up.

    • Indeed. I’m a big fan of those holy people you mentioned. I’ve studied them all and gain much from meditating on their words. I find they integrate very well with my newfound experience as a committed follower of the Christ figure. As for authority, goodness yes. It’s so important to work through these things using our own God-given intellect. Humans are humans — even priests and holy people. We all have equal access to reason and the “spirit world” alike. Individuals must realize that it is perfectly okay to think for themselves — or speak directly to their deities themselves, as the case may be.

Leave a Reply

